Sea Rocket Chapter

Florida Native Plant Society


See our Calendar tab for upcoming events and our newletter to stay informed.
The Sea Rocket Chapter of the Florida Native Plant Society works to promote the preservation, conservation, and restoration of the native plants and native plant communities of Florida.  

We do this through education, community outreach, volunteering, field trips, guest speakers, charitable giving, and supporting scientific research.

The Sea Rocket Chapter is based in north and central Brevard County including the communities of Titusville, Cocoa, Merritt Island, Port St. John, Cape Canaveral, Rockledge, Mims, and Scottsmoor. Mailing Address and General Membership Meeting Location: Enchanted Forest Sanctuary 444 Columbia Blvd., Titusville, Florida 32780  Attention: Sea Rocket Chapter, Florida Native Plant Society.  Email:

What We Do

Field Trips

We have field trips to visit the wonderful flora in our area, some of which can be found no where else on earth!  Our field trip leader is Dr. Paul Schmalzer, plant ecologist with the Kenedy Space Center and UCF. Check our Calendar page for upcoming hikes.  We're on summer break for hikes right now, but  we plan to resume monthly outings in September.

Plant Sales

We have plant sales throughout the year to help you acquire native plants for your own backyard or business.  All of the sales are attended by knowledgeable members who are happy to help answer any questions you may have or give you some guidance as to what natives may do well in your yard or garden. Check our Calendar page for upcoming sales.  Sea Rocket members are entitled to a special discount on their plant purchases at Sea Rocket plans sales.  Not a member?   Sign up the day of the sale and claim your discount!!! We now accept credit cards! Our next plant sale will be held on Saturday, September 17, 2022 from 9:00am to 1:00pm at the Enchanted Forest Sanctuary in Titusville.  Come early for the best selection and remember, members are eligible for discounts!

Contact Us ! 

Our Current Board Members are:

  1. President - Paul Schmalzer, PhD.

  2. Vice President - OPEN

  3. Treasurer - Patti Larson

  4. Secretary - Laura Covel

  5. Chapter Representative - OPEN

  6. Membership - OPEN

  7. Education / Outreach - OPEN

  8. Nursery - OPEN

  9. Hike Leader - Paul Schmalzer, PhD

  10. Newsletter - Tenzin Yeshi

  11. Hospitality - Elizabeth Bishop

  12. Social Media - OPEN 

Photo Credit: Bryan Ames, Railroad Vine

Published on  August 4th, 2022